Syrup Grading System

New Grading System 2016

This year will mark the use of a new grading system for maple syrup. It is being phased over the next two years but several producers will be using it this year. After more than 10 years of negotiation the grades for maple syrup are now standardized in Canada and the United States. Gone will be  the familiar Extra Lght, Light, Medium and Amber as used in Ontario. In their place are new names with flavour descriptors to help consumers choose between the different syrups:

Golden – delicate taste
Amber – rich taste
Dark – robust taste
Very Dark – strong taste